Africa Multiple Cluster of Excellence

Reorienting African Studies together with African partner institutions - this is what the Africa Multiple Cluster of Excellence is all about, and it can look back on a long tradition of academic engagement with Africa in the focus area of African Studies. The focus is on the continental and transcontinental interconnections of cultural, linguistic, social, religious, political, economic, and ecological processes. New forms of intercontinental scientific cooperation are emerging in the Cluster, especially through the four newly founded African Cluster Centres in Burkina Faso, Kenya, Nigeria, and South Africa. The international teams are jointly developing research methods to arrive at a differentiated view of Africa. In addition to the newly established research centres, the Cluster successfully cooperates with other institutions in Africa, Germany, Europe, Asia, and America.



Supported by BayFOR:

Research Focus:

  • Climate
  • Culture / Languages / Arts
  • Digitalisation / ICT / AI
  • Education / Skills / Capacity Building
  • Food / Nutrition
  • Medicine and Health
  • Other(s)
  • Urban Development / Cities


Université Ki-Zerbo
Rhodes University
Moi University
University of Lagos
University of Bayreuth


Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa, Burkina Faso, Germany (Bavaria)