Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences

From October 2019 to December 2021, the 'Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences' project was carried out at Weihenstephan-Triesdorf University of Applied Sciences. The project was part of the Network Africa at the Centre for International Affairs and was an important component of HSWT’s internationalisation strategy. The 'Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences' was sponsored by the Bavarian State Chancellery as part of the 'Bavarian Africa Package'. By establishing this alliance, HSWT’s mission was to create a network of Ethiopian partners in the field of academia and higher education, and to share its expertise on the topic of 'applied teaching'. By doing this, HSWT wants to take the model of applied science universities – as has been practised by HSWT for nearly 50 years – and to work actively with its Ethiopian partners to adapt and develop the model to their situation. Within this project, HSWT is focusing on the key issues of landuse, horticulture, agribusiness, food technology, biotechnology, spatial planning and climate change adaptation. Through the 'Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences', HSWT established a sustainable network of educational institutions and partners in the industry, creating a platform for exchange that benefitted everyone involved. In establishing the alliance, HSWT was also able to draw upon its varied and extensive experience, and especially its networks of industry partners. Valuable synergistic effects were created particularly by the existing HSWT project 'Training pact with Africa', funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and the German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ).



Supported by BayFOR:

Research Focus:

  • Climate
  • Food / Nutrition

Project Coordination:

Weihenstephan-Triesdorf University of Applied Sciences

Project Partner:

Addis Ababa University
Agro Technical and Technology College (ATTC)
Arsi University
Bahir Dar University
Debre Markos University
Haramaya University
Hawassa University
Jimma University
Mekelle University


Ethiopia, Germany (Bavaria)

Funding Type:

Bayerisches Afrikapaket